Geylang International FC

Eagles fall to defeat at Bishan

Leonel Felice scores his first goal for the Eagles

Leonel Felice scores his first goal for the Eagles

Geylang International slumped to their second defeat in as many games, after a 4-1 defeat at the hands of Home United FC. Former LionsXII alumnus Izzdin Shafiq put the home side into the lead in the 12th minute before former Geylang International golden boy Yasir Hanapi helped himself to two goals. Argentinean forward, Leonel Felice, then pulled one back on his debut for the Eagles but all hopes of a possible comeback were put to bed, courtesy of a Kwon Dakyung’s header.

Both teams went in to the match, searching for their first victory of the season and it showed in the early stages. A nervy start resulting in both teams struggling to grasp proper hold of possession. The first real chance for Home United however, turned out to be the first goal of the match.

After winning a foul in a dangerous position, Lee Kwan Woo lined a free-kick up. His blistering effort was palmed onto Izzdin Shafiq’s path by the Eagles’ custodian Siddiq Durimi and the Home United midfielder made no mistake with his follow up, thumping the ball into the roof of the net to give Home United a 1-0 lead. Siddiq Durimi found himself thwarting Home United single-handedly after the first goal. Twice, Yasir Hanapi found himself with only the Geylang keeper to beat but the latter brilliantly won the battle on both occasions.

The best chance of the half  for the Eagles fell to debutant, Leonel Felice. A sumptuous cross by Jalal was met by the Argentinean forward, who powered his header just over the bar, with only the Home United goalkeeper to beat. Geylang were duly made to pay for that missed chance soon after. Home United’s marquee player Lee Kwan Woo played a delightful lofted ball to Yasir Hanapi, and the former Geylang International player’s hard effort beat Siddiq Durimi, ricochet off the post and into the back of the net. Two-nil to Home United as the first half drew to a close.

Geylang looked to come back stronger in the second half and made a half time substitution, bringing Aliff Shafaein on for Wyldan Wisam. But things took a turn for the worst in the 53rd minute. A brilliant Lee Kwan Woo corner found Kwon Dakyung at the near post and the South Korean’s thumping header made it 3-0 to the hosts.

The match looked to be dead rubber after the third goal, before Leonel Felice stepped up to net on his debut. Starting the move by spreading it wide to the speedy Hafiz Nor on the right flank, the forward received the ball back before striking the ball into the left corner of the net. Geylang International pegging a goal back and looked to threaten after that. But all hopes of a possible comeback were extinguished when a Yasir Hanapi’s effort was unfortunately deflected into the back of the net by Yuki Ichikawa. That was the former Geylang midfielder’s second of the game, sealing matters at 4-1.

Speaking to the Geylang International Media Team after the match, Eagles’ head coach Vedhamuthu Kanan was dejected. Asked on what went wrong, he replied: “Nothing went right.” The head coach singled out his defence after the performance, saying: “We conceded four goals from simple defensive errors.” Citing pre-season performances where Geylang beat Tampines and the Warriors 1-0, he said: “I thought we had a good defensive team given our results in pre-season but tonight was unacceptable.”

The Eagles will next travel to Clementi Stadium to play defending S.League Champions, Tampines Rovers, on Sunday, 16 March 2014.

FINAL SCORE: Home United (Izzdin Shafiq, 12′, Yasir Hanapi, 43′, 76′, Kwon Dakyung, 51′) 4-1 Geylang International (Leonel Felice, 62′)

Home United Line-up: Shahril Jantan, Juma’at Jantan Precious Emuejeraye (Ismail Yunos, 45′), Kwon Dakyung, Yasir Hanapi, Izzdin Shafiq, Song In-Young, Lee Kwan Woo, Fazli Ayob (Ahmed Fahmie, 45′), Sirina Camara, Syahiran Miswan (Zulkifli Suzliman, 74′)

Geylang International Line-up: Siddiq Durimi, Wyldan Wisam (Aliff Shafaein, 45′), Khairulnizam Jumahat (Jonathan Tan, 69′), Joaquin Lopez, Yuki Ichikawa, Jalal Jasim, Hamqammal Shah, Franco Chivilo, Hafiz Nor (Mustaqim Manzur, 82′), Ridhuan Muhammad (C), Leonel Felice


Join us on Facebook

Like Us

Follow us on Twitter