Soaring Eagles tame the Tigers

Geylang International returned to their winning ways with a convincing 3-0 victory over Balestier Khalsa at Our Tampines Hub (OTH) on Sunday.

The first half was evenly poised with both teams attempting to seize the early initiative. The Tigers fired the first salvo when they were awarded a free-kick just outside the box in the 17th minute. Their attempt was, however, thwarted by Zaiful Nizam, who palmed away the ball following a fine effort by former teammate Hazzuwan Halim.

Asshukrie came close to breaking the deadlock in the 40th min after a neat pass by Amy Recha. However, his tame effort was well stopped by Balestier’s custodian Riki Kimura. Iqram Rifqi then had another opportunity to put the Eagles ahead just before the break but fired his shot narrowly pass the right side of the net.

The Eagles came out firing on all cylinders in the second half. Amy Recha eventually broke the deadlock in the 60th minute after tapping home a fine cross by Christopher van Huizen from the left flank.

The Eagles doubled their advantage when Ensar Brunčević put the ball into his own net before Brazilian Matheus Morseche scored his 11th goal of the season by firing in a shot off the post for Geylang’s third goal in the 73rd minute and sealing the victory for Geylang International.

Geylang International Head Coach Noor Ali was delighted with the performance of his charges and paid tribute to them as they look to end the season on a positive note in the season’s last game against Tampines Rovers next Sunday.

“It was a big relief to come away with a clean sheet. Their performances were superb and credit to each one of them for giving their 100% tonight. I really appreciate what the boys have put in and applaud their motivation as we hope to end the season on the right note next Sunday,” said Noor Ali.

Lineup: Zaiful Nizam, Ilhan Noor (Darren Teh 84’), Danny Kim, Amy Recha, Barry Maguire, Matheus Moresche, Asshukrie Wahid (Christopher van Huizen 46), Azri Suhaili (Umar Akhbar 46), Yuki Ichikawa (C), Iqram Rifqi, Abdil Qaiyyim